Which are the most successful teams in the UEFA Champions League

The dream of any footballer who plays for a European team is to win the Champions League. A tournament that brings together the region’s league winners and the most important teams from each country, who fight to win the “orejona”, the particular trophy of this competition.

Since this competition was created, back in 1955, many teams have played in the Champion League. However, far fewer are those who have managed to win it, especially since many of them have repeated on several occasions. 

If you want to know which are the most successful teams in this competition, here we leave you the main winners of the highest title at European level. Top-level teams that may interest you when making Champions League bets or simply to win a few beers from your friends, if they haven’t read this article before you, of course.

Real Madrid

If there is a king of cups in Europe, this is undoubtedly Real Madrid. The Chamartín club has won no fewer than 13 titles in this competition, making it the team that has lifted the trophy the most times. In fact, the first time this competition was played, back in 1955, was Madrid’s first win in it. It would not be the only one, given that all the European Cups from 1956 to 1960 would be for the white club. 

Later, a time of drought would come, from 1966, which would be broken by the cups of 1998, 2000 and 2002. Finally, the last ones to arrive correspond to the years 2014 and the period 2016 to 2018. So, from that magical Madrid of Di Stefano, Paco Gento and Joseito to Sergio Ramos, Kross and Benzema, many years have passed, but also many European titles.


Although it is true that in recent years the “Vecchia Signora” has been in a particular ordeal in Europe, far from what it had been in the past, even today it is still the second most outstanding team in terms of the number of titles it holds. In total, they have won this trophy seven times, in 1963, 1969, 1989 and 1990, 1994 and the last ones in 2003 and 2007. In addition, they have played four more finals, in which they obviously finished as runner-up.

Bayern Munich

The bronze medal in this competition is held by Bayern Munich. And it is that the Bavarian team has six Champions League titles in its showcases. As with Madrid, these triumphs are separated in time by two cycles. One is the one that goes from 1974 to 1976, years in which the squad had big names like Muller, Franz Beckenbauer or Michelberger. The other titles are more recent, from 2001 and 2013, the last being 2020. As a curiosity, in this tournament the team did not lose a single game.


Despite the dominance that English clubs held over the competition from the mid-1970s to the early 1980s, we have to wait for fourth place to talk about the top English club in this ranking. In total, there are six titles that the club has achieved, equaling the result with that of Bayern Munich. Four of those titles correspond to the time we have mentioned, in the years 1977, 1978, 1981 and 1984. It would take 20 years until the club raised a Champions League again, in 2005. The last one dates from the year 2019, in a squad directed by the Spanish Rafa Benitez.

FC Barcelona

The second Spanish team on this list is Barça, with five Champions League titles. Surprisingly, it was not until 1992 that the culé club won its first Champions League, although at that time the competition was still called the European Cup. We would also have to wait a bit for the following wins in 2006, 2009, 2011 and 2015. Needless to say, Messi’s Argentine genius had a lot to do with all of them. In addition, the 2009 title was part of the famous sextet that the club achieved in that year, winning the League, the Cup, the Spanish Super Cup, the Champions League, the European Super Cup and the Club World Cup. 


Although today it is still a regular team in European competitions, the golden age of Ajax and its relationship with the Champions League is already quite old. Specifically, we have to travel to the period from 1971 to 1973, when the club won three of the four Champions League titles it has in its showcase. A period in which the club had stars like Johan Neeskens, Louis van Gaal or Johan Cruyff himself. As for their last title, this dates back to 1995. Since then, the club has not played a competition final again, except in 1996. A drought that does not look like it will end soon.

Inter de Milan

We close our selection with the second Italian team on the list and also the second team from Milan, although the latter should not be told to their fans. In total, “Internazionale” has won three titles, in 1964, 1965 and the last one in 2010. Without a doubt, during this year Mourinho’s hand on the bench and Eto’s good work were noticeable ‘o, Balotelli or Stankovic, among other great players. However, since then the club has not even played in a final again and, looking at the state of the team, it does not seem that the club will be able to do so in the coming years. Although you never know what can happen.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *